Asserting the recipients of the 2021 Fb Fellowship awards

The Facebook scholarship program gives awards to doctoral students who research important topics in computer science and engineering, such as: B. Computer Vision, Programming Languages, Computer Social Sciences, and more. Award winners will receive tuition and fees paid for up to two academic years, as well as a US $ 42,000 scholarship that includes assistance with conference travel.

The Fellows are also invited to the Facebook headquarters in Menlo Park to attend the annual Fellowship Summit. This summit gives fellows the opportunity to network with the rest of their cohort, share their research, and learn more about what researchers are working on at Facebook. As in 2020, we will be hosting the summit practically this year.

The program is now in its tenth year and has supported more than 144 doctoral students from a variety of universities. This year we received 2,163 applications from over 100 universities worldwide and selected 26 outstanding fellows from 19 universities.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you to everyone who took the time to submit an application.

2021 Facebook Fellows

Applied statistics

Hsiang Hsu
Harvard University

Finalists: Ayush Jain, University of California, San Diego; Hanyu Song, Duke University

AR / VR photonics and optics

Prachi Tureja
California Institute of Technology

Finalists: Nathan Tessema Ersumo, University of California, Berkeley; Geun Ho Ahn, Stanford University; Christina Maria Spaegele, Harvard University

AR / VR future technologies

Logan Clark
University of Virginia

Caitlin Morris
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Finalists: Dishita Turakhia, MIT; Adam Williams, Colorado State University; Feiyu Lu, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)

Blockchain and crypto-economy

Yan Ji
Cornell University

Finalists: Vibhaalakshmi Sivaraman, MIT; Itay Tsabary, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology

Computational Social Science

Manoel Horta Ribeiro
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne

Finalists: Kelsey Gonzalez, University of Arizona; Marianne Aubin Le Quere, Cornell University

AR / VR computer graphics

Cheng Zhang
University of California, Irvine

Liang Shi

Finalist: Joey Litalien, McGill University

Computer vision

Shuang Li

Xingyi Zhou
University of Texas at Austin

Finalists: Xinshuo Weng, Carnegie Mellon University, Yunzhu Li, MIT, Jiayuan Mao, MIT, Yinpeng Dong, Tsinghua University

Distributed Systems

Yunhao Zhang
Cornell University

Finalists: Vikram Narayanan, University of California, Irvine; Ahmed Alquraan, University of Waterloo

Economy and computation

Andrés Ignacio Cristi Espinosa
University of Chile

Finalist: Hanrui Zhang, Duke University


Jiaxin Lin
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Finalists: Siva Kesava Reddy Kakarla, University of California, Los Angeles; Junzhi Gong, Harvard University; Fabian Luffy Varga, New York University (NYU)

Programming languages

Yuanbo Li
Georgia Institute of Technology

Finalists: Jenna Wise, Carnegie Mellon University; Victor A. Ying, MIT

Security and privacy

Jiaheng Zhang
University of California, Berkeley

Marina Minkin
University of Michigan

Finalists: Lillian Yow Tsai, MIT; Praneeth Vepakomma, MIT; Alexander Bienstock, NYU; Amrita Roy Chowdhury, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Trishita Tiwari, Cornell University; Harjasleen Malvai, Cornell University; Jiameng Pu, Virginia Tech

Database systems

Leonhard Spiegelberg
Brown University

Jialin thing

Finalists: Tobias Ziegler, Technical University Darmstadt; Ian Neal, University of Michigan; Pedro Thiago Timbó Holanda, Center for Science & Informatica; Avinash Kumar, University of California, Irvine

Machine learning systems

Weizhe Hua
Cornell University

Finalist: Qinyi Luo, University of Southern California

Well-being and safety of the Instagram / Facebook app

Yasaman Sadat Sefidgar
University of Washington

Finalists: Nicholas Santer, University of California, Santa Cruz; Brian Ward Bauer, University of South Mississippi; Morgan Klaus Scheuerman, University of Colorado Boulder

Data protection and data usage

Reza Ghaiumy Anaraky
Clemson University

Finalist: Yixi Zou, University of Michigan

Machine learning

Mikhail Khodak
Carnegie Mellon University

Yuval Dagan

Natural language processing

Tiago Pimentel Martins da Silva
Cambridge University

Kawin Ethayarajh
Stanford University

Finalists: Haoyue “Freda” Shi, Toyota Technological Institute in Chicago; Tom McCoy, Johns Hopkins University

Speech processing and audio classification

Paul Pu Liang
Carnegie Mellon University

Finalists: Jonah Casebeer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Efthymios Tzinis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Karan Ahuja, Carnegie Mellon University

– –

Further information on application requirements and program details can be found on the Facebook Fellowship Program page.

Comments are closed.